Australian Council of Learned Academies - ACOLA

The Australian Council of Learned Academies (ACOLA) is an independent, not-for-profit organisation that supports evidence-based interdisciplinary research.  Established in 2010, ACOLA is the successor to the National Academies Forum (established in 1995) and is comprised of a Council, Board and Secretariat.

ACOLA is the forum whereby Australia's four independent Learned Academies – Australian Academy of the Humanities, Australian Academy of Science, Academy of Social Sciences in Australia and Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering – come together to contribute to inform national policy and to develop innovative solutions to complex global problems and emerging national needs.

More than 2000 of the nation’s most eminent scientists, researchers, scholars and practitioners contribute to this rich source of expert knowledge.


  • To deliver policy advice to government on specific issues.
  • To promote that advice to the wider community and contribute to public debate.
  • To advocate to senior decision makers matters consistent with the objects of the Council on issues of major national policy.
  • To encourage research and scholarship across the disciplines.
  • To promote an appreciation of the value of national research and scholarship.
  • To enhance the prestige and visibility of the four Learned Academies.
  • To promote closer relations among the four Learned Academies.
  • To promote administrative efficiency through sharing of information and resources.

Source: ACOLA


Level 1, 1 Bowen Crescent
Melbourne, VIC 3004  Australia